NEW! Lighting Designer Directory »

  July 1, 2021   

Megan Carroll Becomes the 94th President of the Illuminating Engineering Society New York City Section


Shoshanna Segal is the Section’s Vice President


NEW YORK, NY -- Effective July 1, 2021, Megan Carroll, LC, MIES, is the 94th President of the Illuminating Engineering Society New York City Section (IESNYC) after being elected by the IESNYC Membership. She brings her extensive knowledge of the lighting industry and the IES to the position.

“The challenging opportunity to help steward the IESNYC in it’s 115th year, during a time of significant cultural, business and technological evolution is energizing,” says Ms. Carroll. “Together with our Vice President Shoshanna Segal and a fiercely passionate Board of Managers, this formidable task is within reach.”

Megan has over 30 years of marketing, sales, and management experience in the lighting industry. Currently, she works in Specification Sales at Illuminations Inc., and has held similar positions at Acuity Brands, Xicato, Philips Lighting, and others.

Most recently, she served as Vice President of the IESNYC. She has been involved in the Section since 2000 when she Co-Chaired the Lumen Awards Committee for four consecutive years, and then again chaired the committee from 2012 to 2015. Megan received the IESNYC Section Service Award in 2014 and was presented with a Presidential Proclamation, naming October 10, 2019, “Megan Carroll Appreciation Day” for her years of being an IESNYC Champion.

Her leadership in the IES includes serving as IES Illumination Awards Chair, IES Annual Conference Committee Member, Marks Committee Member, and most recently, as the Chair of the IES Annual Conference.

In addition, she has been a Founding Member of the New York Chapter of WILD (Women in Lighting Design) since it was established in the 1990’s.

Shoshanna Segal CLD, LC, IALD, LEED AP, MIES is the Section’s new vice president. She is the principal of Luminous Flux, LLC, an architectural lighting design studio she founded in 2010. She rejoined the IESNYC Board of Managers in 2020 after serving on the Board from 2000 to 2001, and then again from 2006 to 2008. From 1997 to 2001, she Co-Chaired the Lumen Awards Committee and again from 2003 to 2006. In 2007, she received an IES Section Service Award in recognition of her outstanding service of five plus years.

Megan succeeds Mike Barr, MIES, who served for the Section for two terms. He remains on the IESNYC Board of Managers, will chair the Nominations and Awards Committee, and will continue to Chair and Administer the IESNYC Thesis Awards.

Megan Carroll, Shoshanna Segal, along with the Section’s Treasurer Brad Telias, MIES, (Enterprise Lighting Sales), comprise the IESNYC Executive Committee.

Joseph Belfer (Cerberus Consulting), Phil Cialdella (Light Abilities), Colin Conroy * (Lightcraft), Rinkinson Gohel (Bliss Fasman), Brigid Hardiman (Lightcraft), Melissa Goren (MGE), Caleb McKenzie (US Lighting Consultants), Zachary Pearson * (FMS), Randy Sabedra (RS Lighting Design), as well as the aforementioned, President, Vice President, and Treasurer, are the members of the 2021-2022 IESNYC Board of Managers.

*Denotes new Board Members.

About the IESNYC
IESNYC (www.iesnyc.org) is the New York City Section of the Illuminating Engineering Society. The IESNYC is a volunteer professional membership organization whose members share a mutual appreciation for lighting. Members are lighting designers, consultants, lighting manufacturers, lighting representatives, electrical distributors, and allied professionals. The IESNYC is dedicated to promoting the art and science of illumination engineering to its members, professionals in allied fields, and the public through events, programs and educational series, social outreach, and networking opportunities.

Linda G. Miller Assoc. MIES
212/725-7656 917/710-4252



Don’t miss the next big lighting story…

Click here to subscribe to the inside.lighting InfoLetter
Just 3-4 emails per month and it’s easy to unsubscribe




  • Current

  • Current

  • Current